The Royal Belfast Academical Institution

Larmor House

Year 8 Larmor 2021-22.jpeg

Larmor House

Senior Housemaster: Mr GT Monteith

Year 8: Mr J Shields Year 9: Mr I Robb / L Tomb

Year 10: Mrs G Horner / Mrs K Walsh Year 11: Mr M Gleghorne

Year12: Mr P Sheppard Year 13: Mrs B Gallagher

Head of House: Charlie Smyth

Deputy Head of House: Jake McCarten

Senior Prefects: Freddie Clark

Prefects: Jake McCarten, Henry Keys, Lorcan Donnelly, Charlie Smyth, Henry O’Sullivan, Matthew Mooney, Scott McElhinney, Matthew Williams, Adam Thompson, Max Megarry, Dylan Alexander and Callum Glendinning.

Mentors: Freddie Clarke, Jake McCarten, Henry Keys, Lorcan Donnelly, Charlie Smyth, Henry O’Sullivan, and Dylan Alexander

To begin, I would like to welcome all new Year 8 pupils to the House. I would like to encourage each of them to explore the opportunities available from as many of the co-curricular clubs and societies as possible. I would also like to urge them to represent Larmor House to the best of their abilities.

I would like to thank outgoing tutors Mr Titterington, Mr Menown and Mr Harkness for their support over the past years and welcome new tutors Mrs Tomb and Mr Robb and Mr Shields.

The senior pupils excelled again in academic performance, with Year 14 pupils Michael Montgomery achieving 4A*; Matthew Cheung 2A*s and 2As; Adam Johnston 3A*s; Rory Ellerby 2 As and 1 B; Jack Ross 2A*s and 1 B; and Dan Smith D*D* and 1 A. Year 13 pupils Callum Glendinning and Freddie Clark represented their cohort successfully with Callum achieving A* 2As and B and Freddie achieving 2 As and C. The Year 12 pupils were not to be outdone with Samuel Jordan scoring 37 points, Marcell Jancsurak 33, James Garrett 31 and Wasif Harris 28.

The House Championship saw some outstanding performances with wins in junior rugby, badminton, and volleyball. Second place finishes in the Corry Cup, McKee cup for Swimming, Sheldon Cup for Cross Country and the House Volleyball competition. The combination of the superb endeavour and attitude of the boys resulted in us retaining the House Championship shield.

Pupils also excelled in co-curricular areas: Jacob Boyd represented Ulster and Ireland and lifted the Schools’ Cup as Captain of the first XV; Rory Ellerby was selected for Ulster Schools; Adam Boyd, Blake McLean, Reagan Lath Amou, Cian McClean and Benji McCarten all represented Ulster Rugby at Schools level; Matthew McAreavey and his brother Robbie represented Ulster and Ireland Schools. In cricket, Adam Leckey represented Ulster and Ireland while Matthew Cheung represented Ireland in badminton.

I would like to conclude by thanking the tutors and Mr Monteith for their hard work and commitment. Finally, I hope that the pupils work hard to keep the House Championship shield with Larmor House.

Charlie Smyth (Head of House)

Team Building at Ganaway

Team building at Ganaway.jpg

Last Year's Head of House Jacob Edwards returned the House Championship Shield

Last year's Head of House Jacob Edwards returned to school to receive the House Championship shield.jpg

06 2023
McCullough Cup - Hockey - Final (tbc)
06 2023
Foundation Scholarship Evening
08 2023
Year 10 Workshop 'Made for More'
11 2023
Year 9 Parent Consultations - School ends at 12.55 pm
College Square East, Belfast, Co. Antrim, BT1 6DL
Tel: 028 90 240461
© 2023 The Royal Belfast Academical Institution