The Royal Belfast Academical Institution

Kelvin House

Kelvin House

Kelvin House was one of the original four Houses, founded in 1926. It is named after the scientist Lord Kelvin, who was born William Thompson at 17 College Square East, Belfast. He attended the Belfast Academical Institution, where his father was a Maths Professor. He later graduated from Cambridge, where he was a champion rower and one of the founders of the university music society.

As a scientist his achievements were many, but he is probably best remembered for his work with temperature, his discovery of absolute zero and his new scale of temperature, now known as the Kelvin scale. He also played a major part in the plans for the laying of a transatlantic telegraph cable, linking Ireland with Canada.

Among many honours and awards were President of the Royal Society, Edinburgh, Chancellor of Glasgow University and Lord Kelvin of Largs. He died in 1907 and is buried beside Newton in Westminster Abbey. A statue in his honour was unveiled at the Botanic Gardens, Belfast, in 1913.

Kelvin House

Senior Housemaster: Mr McMullan

Year 13: Mr Seath

Year 12: Mr Robb

Year 11: Mr O’Brien

Year 10: Mr Hedley

Year 9: Mrs Parks

Year 8: Ms Miller

Head of House: Jonny Eagleson

Deputy Heads of House: Cameron Johnston, Oscar Lowe

Senior Prefects: Rory Adair, Cameron Johnston, Jonathan Mitchell

Prefects: Callum Bryson, Euan Cummings, Jonny Eagleson, Oscar Lowe, Ben Medhurst

Mentors: Jonny Eagleson, Callum Bryson, Sam Mclarnon, Ben Medhurst, Jonathan Mitchell

Valete: AI Adair, JS Carey, LWD Curry, RA Curry, MP Deane, MRJ Kelso, A Marshall, R

McGrath, BD McNamara, HDW McNellis, JR Milligan, WJ Quinn, JM Robinson, JDL Stewart, AA

Talukder, CJA Todd, RDL Waterworth, B young.

First of all, I would like to welcome and congratulate the new Year 8 pupils and other new members

of the House who have joined the school this year. I wish you all every success, as well as hoping that

you will have an enjoyable and memorable time at Inst, whilst getting involved in the various

activities offered by the school.

This year saw Kelvin engage in a wide range of events in a highly contested House competition.

Pupils were able to earn a well fought wins in competitions such as the Junior Cross Country, Year 8

Hockey, Senior Cross Country, House Maths and year 8-10 Rugby. We also placed 2nd in the Corry

Cup. All these excellent performances meant that we finished in 1st place in the overall competition. Congratulations to everyone who participated.

Kelvin also led the way academically. Angus Adair stood out in the Year 14 group, achieving

one A* and two As. As well as maintaining academic excellence, he was Head of School and Captain

of the 1XV rugby team. On behalf of the House we would like to wish the boys good luck as they

leave Inst to go off to university to pursue their particular careers.

Furthermore, at AS Level the boys performed well across the board. Standout performances include

Oscar Lowe with one A* (A2 Mathematics a year early) and three As, Callum Bryson with

four As and finally Cameron Johnston, Sam Mclarnon, TJ Pallin and Rory Adair all achieving three As.

At GCSE, Jack Dickson achieved 3A*s and 7As with Theo Fitch achieving 3A*s, 6As and a B.

in Year 9, George Palmer also represented Ulster U13 Cricket and Oliver Billing kayaked for Ulster at U15 level. The Year 10 pupils also had a triumphant year with Callum Simms starting for the Ulster U16 rugby squad against the USA. Callum Ullah was selected for the Ulster U16 hockey squad as a goalkeeper. Many of the boys also completed the Bronze Duke of Edinburgh’s Award: Josh Eagleson, Lewis Tolerton, Reuben Scott, Andrew Thompson and Daniel Hailes.

In Year 11, Jamie Beattie and Ryan Stewart represented the Ulster U16 rugby squad. Andrew Hamill won the Aberdeen Angus Competition, beating off competitors from England, Scotland and Wales.

In Year 12, Joel Bassett represented Glenavon in the Irish League whilst winning the Belfast Schools League with the 1st XI. Ronan Boyle represented Antrim Minor GAA and Daniel Mulholland became the Ulster Schools 50m freestyle swimming champion. Jack Baskin also competed in the Ulster Schools relay championship.

Finally, in Year 13, Sam McLarnon was selected to represent the NCU Under 17 Interpro side, Ben

Medhurst played an important part in the CCF team that won the March Shield and Rory Adair

played in the 1st XV rugby team.

The house would like to thank Mr McMullan and the tutors for their constant support and guidance.

Cameron Johnston and Oscar Lowe (House Secretaries)

30 2020
Year 13 Parents' Information Evening
06 2020
Year 11 Parents' Information Evening
07 2020
Amazing Brains Year 11 - to be confirmed
16 2020
Scout Parents' Evening - to be confirmed
College Square East, Belfast, Co. Antrim, BT1 6DL
Tel: 028 90 240461
© 2020 The Royal Belfast Academical Institution