The Royal Belfast Academical Institution

Jones House

Jones House

Jones House

Senior Housemaster: Mr. D. Wilson

L6 Tutor: Mr. D. Lambe

Year 12 Tutor: Miss. K. Reid

Year 11 Tutor: Mr. S. Gamble

Year 10 Tutor: Mr. J. Wilson

Year 9 Tutor: Mrs. M. Matchett

Year 8 Tutor: Mrs. K. Gilmore

Deputy Head of School: Thomas Johnston

Senior Prefects: Ben Gallagher, Lewis Shiels, Patrick McColl

Head of House: Tom Campbell

House Secretaries: Patrick McColl, Jack Johnston

Prefects: Thomas Alexander, Sam Duncan, David Graham, Josh Gray, Toby Griffith, Michael Hurst, Luke Kelly, Robbie McCammon, Stephen McDougall, Marcus McDowell, Samuel Shaw, Nick Thomas, Joshua Watters

Mentors: Tom Campbell, Ben Gallagher, Michael Hurst, Lewis Shiels, Sam Duncan, Luke Kelly, Marcus McDowell, Thomas Johnston, Jack Johnston, Josh Gray, Dylan Devin

Valete: Mark Austin, Noah Brown, Adam Byrne, Sunny Chan, Carter Clydesdale, Jack Crockett, Isaac Greer, Yassen Gumaa, Rowan Luney, Jon-Marc Maguire, Robert McFarlane, Mikey McKaigue, Benjamin McKeown, Josh Patterson, Mark Petticrew, Jude Postlethwaite, Kristian Taylor, Owen Walsh, Joshua Welch, John Woodburn

On behalf of Jones House, we would like to offer a warm welcome to all the new pupils joining this year, wish them success in their upcoming years at RBAI and hope they take every opportunity that is offered to them.

This year was once again an excellent academic year for the pupils of Jones House. In particular, last year’s Year 12 had some exceptional results, with Jack Fernando achieving an incredible 10A*s; Lachlan Adams achieved 6 A*s, 3 As and 1 B; Peter Wallace achieved 5 A*s, 4 As, a 6 & a 9 and finally, Eoin McClean achieved 1 A*, 6 As, 2 Bs and a 7.

This high level of academic success was maintained at AS level as Patrick McColl achieved 3 As and a B. Tom Alexander, Ben Gallagher, Thomas Johnston, Marcus McDowell and Lewis Shiels all received 3 As with Luke Kelly achieving 2 As and a B and Michael Hurst and Jack Johnston also achieved 2 As and a B. There was also notable success for Robbie McCammon with 2 As and considerable success in his BTEC; Robbie Shaw received an A and also made pleasing progress in his BTEC studies.

The academic success within the House continued at A2 with the students achieving some pleasing results. Josh Patterson achieved an outstanding 3 A*s, Mark Austin earned 2 A*s and an A, Sunny Chan achieved A* and 2 As and Noah Brown achieved 3 As. In Year 14, there was also great success with Owen Walsh and Robert McFarlane achieving 2 As and a D* in their BTECs.

The House Championship, albeit cut short, was closely contested. Jones made an excellent start in the Corry Cup, with Years 11 and 12 achieving 3rd place. The House finished 2nd in the McKee Cup for Swimming and an impressive 3rd in the Senior Cross Country. In the Sheldon Cup, the boys ran to victory in the Junior Cross Country. The senior boys also rallied to victory in the volleyball competition. All this effort secured 4th place overall, only two points behind 3rd placed Dill, and only five points off 2nd place - another closely contested year; who now knows how it may have ended?

It has been another busy year for individuals within the House. In Year 8, James West and Luka Bates played in the Ulster Cricket Team (Under 13s) against Leinster, and we look forward to James and Luka putting their skills to good use in school cricket and in the House Cricket competitions in the years ahead.

In Year 9, Luke Acheson, Cameron Colgan, Zakk Surgenor and Youssef Abdelfattah were all members of the school team that designed, built, programmed and tested their LEGO robot as well as preparing their individual solution to city centre problems: a carbon extractor in the IET All-Ireland Lego Competition. In the finals in Dublin, they were crowned both best Northern Ireland School and Best Overall Robot, a fantastic achievement! This gave the team the honour and privilege to represent Northern Ireland at the World Finals in Detroit USA, an opportunity only awarded to 150 teams from over 150,000 entries world-wide. Unfortunately, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the world final was cancelled but this was a remarkable achievement by those involved.

In Year 10, Toby Olphert was selected to play for the men’s team at Ballynahinch Hockey Club and this experience will undoubtedly help him when he plays for the school U15 team this year.

Year 13 pupils also achieved notable success: Patrick McColl and Stephen McDougall were members of the 1st X1 Hockey squad that qualified for the Burney Cup semi-final against Sullivan after a tight quarter-final victory over Raphoe. This was an excellent achievement and the first time that the 1st X1 had reached this stage of the competition in many years.

In golf, Luke Kelly of the Y13, Robert Craigan (Y12) and his brother George Craigan (Y9) were all members of the school team that reached the final of the All-Ireland Senior Schools final. Luke had significant personal success in the sport as well, coming second in the Irish U18 Boys, winning the Irish U17 trophy and coming 3rd in the Munster U18 boys.

Dylan Devlin and Robbie Shaw were both members of the school 1st X1 Football team that qualified for the Northern Ireland Plate final which regrettably had to be cancelled due to Lockdown. Ben Gallagher, Lewis Shiels and Thomas Johnston all played in the 2nd XV Schools’ Cup final where they defeated MCB. The occasion was particularly memorable for Thomas Johnston, as he scored the winning try in the last minute! In Athletics, Sam Duncan claimed first place in the Northern Ireland Indoor Championships with a jump of 6.12m.

In Music, Robbie McCammon has continued to impress. Robbie has hosted 30-minute radio shows on BBC Radio Ulster and BBC Sounds – an incredible achievement whilst still at school. He recently participated in the AVA Festival which is one of the largest of its kind in the UK; he has contributed to the MINDS mental health charity festival and he has successfully competed against adults in the “Emerging Talent” contest. Meanwhile, Nick Thomas was a member of the Ulster Youth Orchestra and the National Youth Orchestra of Ireland. Unfortunately, under the current circumstances live performances were impossible but Nick still managed to complete and pass his exams successfully to become an Associate of the Royal School of Music.

To conclude, we would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Wilson and all the tutors for their hard work and tireless dedication to the House and the support that they provide to all the pupils. I wish everyone the very best for this different, and challenging year ahead and hope that we can continue this high level of academic and co-curricular success.

Jack Johnston and Patrick McColl (House Secretaries)

28 2021
CDG A Level standardisation and moderation
06 2021
GCSE CDG moderation & standardisation
10 2021
Year 10 Exams
10 2021
Year 11 Study Leave
College Square East, Belfast, Co. Antrim, BT1 6DL
Tel: 028 90 240461
© 2021 The Royal Belfast Academical Institution