The Royal Belfast Academical Institution

Pirrie House

Pirrie House

Senior Housemaster: Mr DS Scott

Year 8 Tutors: Mrs VH McCord / Mrs K Rogers

Year 9 Tutor: Mrs KS McClean

Year 10 Tutor: Ms L Gordon

Year 11 Tutor: Mr D McCann

Year 12 Tutor: Mr S Archibald

Year 13 Tutor: Mr RJ Wilson

Head of House: Ewan Magee

Deputy Head of House: Aaron Tate

House Secretary: Fionnbharr Brannigan

Prefects: Fionnbharr Brannigan, Barry Cheevers, Nick Irvine, Ewan Magee (Senior), James Morton

Mentors: Ewan Magee, James Morton, Ralf Stewart, Svetozar Zdravkov

Valete: Finlay Bodel, Ben Connolly, Brandon Douglas, Tom Glover, Sam Kennedy, Rhys Madden, Adam McGuckin, Harry McNeill, Mitchell Mercer, Will Millar, Callum O’Neill, Braidan Ramsey, Charlie Roberts, Donal Shearer, Miles Smith, Jonathan Starrett, Adam Stewart

Firstly, I would like to offer a welcoming hand to the new members of Pirrie House who have joined this year and, as per usual, we will ensure that your integration into the School is smooth.

8P 2019

Last year’s Year 14, achieved an excellent set of A2-Level results. The top performers were Donal Shearer with three A* grades and an A grade while Ben Connolly achieved three A* grades. Will Millar impressed with two A*s and a B grade while Rhys Madden attained an A* and two A grades. Mitchell Mercer attained an excellent grade profile of AAA while Finlay Bodel achieved a pleasing profile of AAB.

At AS-Level, Barry Cheevers and Ewan Magee impressed with AAB grade profiles. Svetozar Zdravkov achieved a pleasing two A grades and a C grade while Nick Irvine and Marco Manso also performed well. At GCSE, Thomas Dunne and Edward Tang performed very well with 28 points while Paddy Mackey, Daniel Marshall and Tom Lappin also achieved very good points scores.

Our junior years have achieved in their respected fields as our Year 8 came second in House Hockey and Nathan Roberts performed admirably and won both the Sports Day High Jump and the Northern Ireland Junior Scout Climbing Competition. Our Year 9s also won House Swimming and were placed second in House Rugby and Cross Country. 9P’s Allen Lyons proved his talent in Hockey as an individual as he was selected for the Ulster Lions Hockey squad. A plethora of accolades in the House continued in our Year 10 class as they won swimming, cricket and badminton. Oscar Dunbar became European Junior Champion in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

Oscar Dunbar Pirrie

10P's Oscar Dunbar wins gold at the European Junior Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Championships

Our senior pupils also demonstrated high levels of achievement in sport as Year 11 won swimming and cross country while multiple individuals presented success in their own pursuits. Dylan Leeman excelled in tennis as he won the Ulster Under 16 Junior Open Singles and was part of the European Championship team. Harry Greer also represented Ulster at a regional level in athletics. Endeavours among individuals in the House continued to be numerous in the Sixth Form as Jamie Morton received a scholarship for Music; Jason Tsoutsas and Barry Cheevers achieved their Gold Duke of Edinburgh’s Award; and Nick Irvine, working within a team, took third place in the Northern Ireland Chemistry Analyst Competition. Year 14 performed excellently, leading senior teams to win the cross country and McKee Cup for swimming while a second place in water polo demonstrated a noticeable improvement in the water. Donal Shearer won the 1,500m at Senior Sports Day; Brandon Douglas cycled professionally with Flanders Belgium Racing and Will Millar assisted the Ulster Tennis Under 18s team to finish second in the Interprovincial Championships. Despite finishing sixth in the House Championships, we believe that if we rally together and show great collective discipline, our endeavours will be rewarded.

House Swimming Pirrie

Left to right: Jacob Martin, Joshua Bradshaw, Calum Dornan, Ryan Ferguson, Pearse Ferguson and Sam Kennedy captain their teams to win the Swimming Competition.

Throughout the year, the House contributed to charity to help others, including Concern Worldwide, Habitat for Humanity Northern Ireland and The Save The Children Appeal for East Africa. At the annual House Rewards Assembly, The Pirrie Cup for leadership was presented jointly to Head of House Finlay Bodel and Head of School Ben Connolly. Daniel Boomer and Ryan Ferguson shared The Todd Cup for the best contribution to the House. House Contribution Certificates were awarded to Dan Kernohan, Oscar Dunbar, Harry Greer, Aaron Tate, Rhys Madden and Jonathan Starrett.

Todd Cup Pirrie

Daniel Boomer (left) and Ryan Ferguson (right) receive The Todd Cup for best contribution to the House

To conclude my report, on behalf of the boys of the House, I would like to thank Mr Scott and the tutors, including Mrs Harshaw, for their care and assistance in enabling us to enjoy school and make the most of our opportunities at Inst. I hope that every member of the House has an enjoyable and successful year inside and outside the classroom in the coming year.

Fionnbharr Brannigan (House Secretary)

13 2020
Year 12 Trial Exams
22 2020
Medallion A&B Clongowes (Home)
24 2020
Rugby Tour
25 2020
Irish Indoor Rowing Championships, Limerick
College Square East, Belfast, Co. Antrim, BT1 6DL
Tel: 028 90 240461
© 2020 The Royal Belfast Academical Institution