The Royal Belfast Academical Institution

Dill House


Senior Housemaster: Mr MH Lyttle BSc, P.G.C.E.


In 1925 the School Song was written and boys were required for the first time to wear the yellow and black quartered caps. A year later the house system was introduced, with the four houses Dill, Kelvin, Larmor and Pirriebeing named after prominent Instonians.

Dill House acquired its name from Sir Samuel Dill (1844-1924), the distinguished Ulster-born classical scholar and educationist. He was born in Hillsborough, County Down, educated at the Royal Belfast Academical Institution and what was then Queen's College, Belfast, held the chair of Greek at Queen's from 1890 until his death in 1924, and was also Pro-Chancellor. He had previously been a fellow of Corpus Christi College, Oxford, and High Master of the Manchester Grammar School. As a member of the Belfast University Commission in 1909, he played an important role in the transformation of Queen's College into a university. Samuel Dill was knighted in 1909.

The Dill Memorial Lecture, founded in 1925 to perpetuate his memory, is given on a subject relating to the history, phliosophy, language or literature of the classical or medieval worlds. The lecture is delivered every second or third year as occasion presents itself.

Dill House Report

Senior Housemaster: Mr MH Lyttle

Year 8: Mr RP Griffiths

Year 9: Mr JB Peak

Year 10: Mr ND Carson

Year 11: Mrs CA Mayberry

Year 12: Ms Z Huston

Year 13: Mr AJ Allen

Head of House: Jared Wait

House Secretary: Peter Todd

Prefects: Carlisle Bruce, Ben Campbell (Senior), Michael Hewitt, James Kavanagh-Cranston, Nicholas Moore, Benjamin Ritchie, Ross Smyth, Peter Todd and Jared Wait

Mentors: Carlisle Bruce, Ben Campbell, Michael Hewitt, James Kavanagh-Cranston, Charles McMurtry, Nicholas Moore, Lewis Nicholl, Benjamin Ritchie, Peter Todd, Jared Wait and Michael Wilson

Valete: Niall Armstrong, Josh Booth, Simon Carlisle, Sean Cathcart, Patrick Clarke, James Cooke, Rory Glasgow, James Hoy, Nathan King, Bailie Kirkwood, Tom Kyle, Ben Lambert, Daniel Lowry, Ross McBurney, David McCann, James Metcalfe, Jamie Mullan, David Patterson, Peter Simpson and Jonathan Williamson-Deronja

Firstly, on behalf of the house, I would like to take the opportunity to extend the warmest welcome to all of the new pupils entering Dill House this year, especially those in Year 8.

8D 2019

I encourage them to take full advantage of the many opportunities presented to them so that they may fulfil their potential and thoroughly enjoy their time here at RBAI. I would also like to wish last year’s Upper Sixth success in their future endeavours and thank them for their contribution to both the academic and co-curricular life of the school during their time at RBAI.

To assist the Year 8 in their transition from primary to secondary education, mentors have been chosen to encourage these students to fully engage themselves in the co-curricular life that the school provides. I would like to congratulate those in the Year 14 who have been appointed to Senior Prefect, Prefect and Mentor and wish them the very best of luck in their new-found responsibilities.

Members of the Year 13 have been awarded House Honours for their contributions: James Armstrong, Ross Campbell, Stuart Campbell, Ross Chambers, Patrick Colan-O’Leary, Sam Collins, Adam Cooke, Ethan Donnelly, Ben Crothers, Daniel Given, Thomas Hall, Ben Higgins, Robbie Hull, Jack Kelly, Zac Lloyd-Humphreys, Stuart McAuley, Xander Mcllwaine, Oliver Metcalfe, Matthew Peak, Jamie Rose, Patrick Stafford and Callam Wallace.

The beginning of the new academic year has once again brought much accolade to Dill House in light of its excellent academic results. At A2-Level James Cooke achieved A* A* A* A, Jonathan Williamson-Deronja gained A*A*A*, David McCann getting A*A*A and James Metcalfe achieved ABA. This success was continued into AS-Level with Nicholas Moore achieving AAAB, James Kavanagh-Cranston getting AAAB, Ben Campbell gaining AAB and Simon Jackson achieving AAB. There was further success at GCSE with Patrick Stafford achieving 9A* 2A, James Armstrong gaining 4A* 6A, Thomas Hall getting 5A* 4A 1B 1C, Patrick Colan-O’Leary gaining 4A* 5A 2B and Callam Wallace getting 1A* 7A 2B 1C.

Last year Dill won the House Championship by an impressive 17 points. We dominated in water polo, volleyball, senior and junior athletics and won the Sheldon Cup for the junior cross country race. I would like to thank all the pupils who participated in last year’s House Championship; your dedication to our house paid off and you should be very proud of the achievements. This year’s competition has got off to a great start with the combined Year 11&12 groups winning the Corry Cup, which is the first event of the 2018-19 competition.

Corry Cup winning team

Other successes included Frazer McMillan (11D), who is just back from the UK School Games having performed extremely well in the Indoor Rowing event. Jack McCausland (9D) this year took part in the Mini Marathon in London and was the 2nd Ulster finisher in the race (more details in the Athletics Report).

Finally, I would like to thank Mr Lyttle and all the Dill tutors on behalf of all the members of the house for all the hard work, dedication and enthusiasm that they put into the overall running of the house and for ensuring that each member achieves to the best of their ability, both academically and in co-circular life.

Peter Todd (House Secretary)

13 2020
Year 12 Trial Exams
22 2020
Medallion A&B Clongowes (Home)
24 2020
Rugby Tour
25 2020
Irish Indoor Rowing Championships, Limerick
College Square East, Belfast, Co. Antrim, BT1 6DL
Tel: 028 90 240461
© 2020 The Royal Belfast Academical Institution