Inst Winners of 2017 Belfast Health and Social Care Debate

BHSCT Debate 2017 winning team


Last Tuesday, members of the Biology Department took part in the Belfast Health and Social Care Trust ‘Healthcare Debate’ Final.

The team of Aneurin Duffin-Murray, Henry Pattison, Angus Adair, Nick Moore, and Dylan Nagar had successfully defeated Rathmore Grammar School in the Semi-Final at the start of November.

They then met St Mary’s School, Newry in the final, where they debated against the motion ‘The health service is less safe at weekends because there are too few medical staff on duty.’ The final was held in the Royal Victoria Hospital, and chaired by Mr Martin Duffy. The judging panel consisted of highly esteemed members of the Belfast Trust, including Mr Martin Dillon, Dr Cathy Jack, Dr Una Carabine and Dr Terry Irwin.

The team did exceptionally well – both in their preparations and on the night - to win the prestigious trophy. Many congratulations to all team members.