Prize Distribution 2017

 Prize Distribution 2017

The Annual Prize Distribution took place on Thursday, 19th October. Students, parents, governors and staff came together to celebrate the curricular and reflect on the co-curricular achievements of pupils following another year of ‘Excellence and Participation’.

The Visitor of the Day, one of our own governors Mr Billy Yarr, OBE, BSc, FRAgS, recounted his own experiences of RBAI and the ability of the school to develop character.

Mr Colin Gowdy, Chairman of the Board of Governors, began the ceremony by thinking about the impact that the lack of governance in the local assembly is having on the provision of education. In this context, it is gratifying that RBAI’s students continue to perform extremely well and strive toward excellent results. In response to this Inst continues to futureproof itself for the coming generations.

The Principal’s address covered the extensive achievements of the 2016-7 school year. Among the highlights was the introduction of Commerce Week, an extremely unique event which gave some members of Year 13 the opportunity to gain experience of a diverse range of professions, from law to engineering.


The Principal highlighted some of the outstanding academic achievements of the previous year. The Year 14 leavers were centre stage; Angus Harley and Curtis Gribben both took up places at either Oxford or Cambridge Universities with Angus Harley achieving 4A*s in his A Level exams. At AS Level, Head of School Ben Connolly and Deputy Head of School Matthew Shane both achieved 4 As.  At GCSE, Nkosinathi Khumalo led the year group with 11A*s, closely followed by Nicholas Moore on 10A*s.

The Principal recognised how important it was to acknowledge the achievements of all, particularly students whose determination had led to them maximising their individual potential, and the staff who assisted them.


Having presented the prizes for academic achievement, progress and potential , Mr Yarr gave the audience the benefit of his own experiences at Inst. Mr Yarr enjoyed and made the most of his time in school taking part in the Scouts, as well as being a member of the 1957 Schools’ Cup winning 1st XV.  He reinforced the school’s ethos of encouraging everyone to give of their best, setting achievable targets and praised parents who encourage and support their sons and the school. These are the foundations, he believes, of achieving success. Mr Yarr’s insights and advice met with enthusiastic applause before the proceedings were concluded by the Vote of Thanks delivered by Head of School Ben Connolly, who thanked the distinguished guest for his time and advice.


Prize Distribution was once again a valuable opportunity to recognise the hard work and determination of the school’s pupils, parents and staff. And not just those who have achieved top grades and honours, but also those boys who have exceeded their own expectations through diligence and commitment. Many thanks to all who came to help us celebrate.

 View more pictures from Prize Distrubtion below: