Rugby Awards Dinner 22/4/16

On Friday April 22nd the annual Rugby Awards Dinner was held in the School Dining Hall with 170 players, parents and staff present. Roger Wilson was the guest at the event and shared some of his memories from his time at Inst and his distinguished playing career. Along with all the Rugby Awards being distributed each team captain gave a report of their season

 RA11   RA22

John Barrett Award for Contribution to Inst Rugby

Winner: Lewis McNamara


Ben McClure Cup
Awarded to the Most Improved Senior Player from outside the 1st XV

Winner: Adam Eakin


JA Hunter Cup for Goal Kicking

Presented to the school by 1888 Schools Cup winning player who also wrote the School song.

Winner: Robin McIllveen


Most Improved Team
Awarded to the team who have displayed the most improvement either from last season to this or throughout the season have improved the most.

Winner: 13A


1962 Trophy for the Team of the Year
(Presented to the school by the Schools’ Cup winning team of 1962)


John Marshall Trophy Medallion Player of the Year
(Awarded in memory ofJohn who was a pupil and player at the school who died of cancer whilst in U6th). Awarded to the most outstanding Medallion player

Winner: Max Preston


1st XV Player of the Year
Awarded to the player who has been the most outstanding 1st XV player over the entire season.

Winner: Rhys O’Donnell


Supporters/Players Player of the Year
Voted for on the night of the awards by players, staff and parents

Winner: Mark Keane