Dill House


Senior Housemaster: Mr MH Lyttle BSc, P.G.C.E.


In 1925 the School Song was written and boys were required for the first time to wear the yellow and black quartered caps.  A year later the house system was introduced, with the four houses Dill, Kelvin, Larmor and Pirriebeing named after prominent Instonians.

Dill House acquired its name from Sir Samuel Dill (1844-1924), the distinguished Ulster-born classical scholar and educationist.  He was born in Hillsborough, County Down, educated at the Royal Belfast Academical Institution and what was then Queen's College, Belfast, held the chair of Greek at Queen's from 1890 until his death in 1924, and was also Pro-Chancellor.  He had previously been a fellow of Corpus Christi College, Oxford, and High Master of the Manchester Grammar School.  As a member of the Belfast University Commission in 1909, he played an important role in the transformation of Queen's College into a university. Samuel Dill was knighted in 1909.

The Dill Memorial Lecture, founded in 1925 to perpetuate his memory, is given on a subject relating to the history, phliosophy, language or literature of the classical or  medieval worlds. The lecture is delivered every second or third year as occasion presents itself. 

Year 8: Mrs CA Mayberry                              Year 9: Ms Z Huston

Year 10: Mr AJ Allen                      Year 11: Mr RP Griffiths

Year 12: Mr JB Peak              Year 13: Mr ND Carson

Head of House: Charlie Fryers

House Secretary: Richard Williamson

Senior Prefects: Andrew Wallace and David Whitten

IMG 00911

Year 8 Dill with Mr Lyttle and Ms Huston

Back Row: Adrian Rivera, Clarke Simpson, James Wallace

Third Row: Callum Keys, James Maguire, Aaron McCamley, Frazer McMillan, Jay Morrison, Joshua Noble, Adam O'Neill, Ian Parkhill

Second Row: Jason Cai, Christopher Cairns, Connor Craig, Tyler Ewing, Curtis Farrelly, Ben Given, Luke Harte, Andrew Hewitt, Stephen Kennedy

Seated: William Adams, Patrick Anderson, Lewis Arbuthnot, Mr Lyttle, Mrs Mayberry, Ben Armstrong, Daniel Bell, Andrew Bruce. 

Year 8
William Adams, Patrick Anderson, Lews Arbuthnot, Ben Armstrong, Daniel Bell, Andrew Bruce, Jason Cai, Christopher Cairns, Conner Craig, Tyler Ewing, Curtis Farrelly, Ben Given, Luke Harte, Andrew Hewitt, Stephen Kennedy, Callum Keys, James Maguire, Aaron McCamley, Frazer McMillan, Jay Morrison, Joshua Noble, Adam O’Neill, Ian Parkhill, Adrian Rivera, Clarke Simpson and James Wallace.

Year 14
Stephen Beattie, Daniel Clarke, Jack Conlin, Thomas Donaldson, Jonathan Duncan, Mark Farmer, Michael Gribben, Jerome Hannan, Joshua Hoy, Andrew Kennedy, Eoin McCann, Jack McCauley, Fraser McFall, Robbie McKinney, Jordan Moore, Michael Nicholl, Lucas Prodohl, Adam Steele, Josh Sturgeon, Connor Wallace.

I would like to take this opportunity to welcome all new pupils, particularly the new Year 8. I sincerely hope that you will find the next seven years challenging and fulfilling. I hope that you will make use of all the opportunities that will be presented to you over the next seven years, both inside and outside the classroom.

A number of the current Year 14 pupils have been appointed to Prefects: Charlie Fryers, Daniel Hewitt, Ben McGavock, Phillip Moneypenny, Jack Warnock and Richard Williamson. In addition, several pupils have been appointed to Year 8 Mentors: Corrie Barrett, Rhys Carson, Jason Galbraith, Phillip Moneypenny, Jamie Morton and Richard Williamson.

Dill House has had an exciting, productive and rewarding year academically. At A2 level, Thomas Donaldson achieved 3 A*s and an A, Mark Farmer Received an A* and 3As. Kiran Robbin and Michael Gribben achieved an A*, 2 As and 3As. At GCSE Level the successes continued, with Curtis Gribben receiving 9A*s and 2 As, while Conor Hamill received 4A*s, 3A’ and 4Bs.

IMG 01666

Brent Brennan winner of the Dill House Cup for Best Contribution

Dill House came second in the House Championship this year, with only three points between the winners, Kelvin and us. We won several events during the competition, including the Corry Cup (Years 10/11 Rugby), House Rugby (Years 8-10), The McKee Cup (Swimming), Sholdis Cup (Basketball), and the House Badminton. I would like to take the time to congratulate every member of Dill House who took part in any of the competitions.

Charlie Fryers with the Pirrie Cup1

Charlie Fryers with the Pirrie Cup

Many individuals have made notable contributions to both the house and the school over the past year, too many to go into detail here. However, I would like to draw attention to Oliver Metcalfe in Year 10 who, in cricket, has played for Ireland U13, Belfast U14 and NCU U13, as well as playing for Instonians, winners of the All Ireland U13 competition. Ben Crothers also played in the team. Continuing with cricket, James Lambert and Josh Armstrong were selected for the Talented Athlete Programme as a result of reaching the last stage of the NCU Cricket trials. Josh was also selected for the Talented Athlete Programme for badminton; he was a member of the team which finished runners-up in the Badminton Schools’ Cup and was selected to represent Ulster in the Celtic Challenge in Cardiff.

Dermot Wallace1

Dermot Wallace, who spent the summer racing with the Tall Ships after they left their dock in Belfast.

Finally, I would like to congratulate Mr Lyttle and the tutors for another successful year and wish them luck for the year ahead.

Richard Williamson

(House Secretary)