Welcome to The Royal Belfast Academical Institution

Updated picture of JW ThumbWelcome to RBAI’s website, designed to give you a feel for the spirit and energy of the school. With over two centuries of educating boys,    we continue to succeed in combining Academic Excellence and pastoral support with a wealth of extra curricular opportunities, all underpinned by a deep commitment to the  needs and enthusiasms of each pupil. 

Miss Janet Williamson M.A. (Oxon); NPQH


Spring Concert 2016

Spring Concert thumbThe Spring Concert is the major showcase for the school’s talented and dedicated musicians. On Thursday 10th and Friday 11th March the boys of the Choir, Orchestra and Jazz Band will invite the audience on a fascinating journey starting in 16th century Flanders (Susato’s “Dansereye”), moving through choral music from France (Fauré) and England (Vaughan Williams) and including some classic Jazz numbers along the way.

Principal – Churchill Fellowship Award 2016

Churchill Fellowship thumbMiss Janet Williamson MA OXON, NPQH has been awarded a prestigious Winston Churchill Travel Fellowship. The Principal will be in Australia ,half term to Easter, to “identify and evaluate alternative measures of pupils’  progress and attainment,”  to identify and disseminate best practice at a school and National level. 

The research will be based in Melbourne, visiting a number of schools, including  Melbourne Grammar, Scotch College, Mentone Grammar and Northern Bay College, as well as Melbourne University.